Follow Us

A Detailed Guide: Every Information Regarding Ashes

A Detailed Guide: Every Information Regarding Ashes

Since 1882, England and Australia have been playing test cricket matches against each other. The Ashes is unlike any other sports rivalry in the world, not just in cricket.

It’s the 71st time that these two teams have competed in this long-running rivalry, which now takes place every two years, switching between England and Australia. If you look at England’s recent performance in all formats, they should be the clear favorites to win the match.

But because so much is at stake in this series, the fights are usually close. Five of the ten Ashes series played since 2000 have been won by both England and Australia. Australia, on the other hand, has won more Tests, 27 to 15. In 2001, Australia beat England by a score of 4-1, which was the last time they won the Ashes in England. Since then, England has won at home four times: in 2005, 2009, 2013, and 2015.

The story of Ashes is 136 years old. The prize is a small clay urn that is said to hold the ashes of a bail that some women in Sydney, Australia, burned on January 30, 1883. The urn is on display in the Memorial Gallery at Lord’s in London.

After Ivo Bligh’s English team beat Billy Murdoch’s Australians by a score of 2-1, England became the first team to win the “Ashes Trophy,” which was given to Bligh in this urn. After Australia beat England for the first time in England on August 29, 1882, a fake death notice was printed in The Sporting Times. This led to the creation of the Ashes series.

At the end of this death notice, it says, “The body will be burned, and the ashes will be sent to Australia.” When Bligh, the captain of England, died in 1927, he gave the urn and its embroidered velvet carrying case to the Marylebone Cricket Club. Since then, it has never been anywhere but the Lord’s museum, even when it was in Australia.

  • Australia Breaches England’s Edgbaston Fortress With The Opening Ashes Test Win –

The first official Test match between England and Australia took place on March 15, 1877, at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. Australia beat England by 45 runs on March 19, 1877, in front of 3000 people on a Monday afternoon. The battle for the Ashes didn’t start until the 30th of December, 1882.

Interestingly, the same thing happened again 100 years later, on the same field, with the same two teams, and by the same score. These two Tests are not part of the Ashes series, but they do count toward the overall record between the two teams. Since 1877, England and Australia have played each other in 16 Tests that were not the Ashes. The Bicentenary Test, which took place in Sydney, Australia, from January 29 to February 2, 1988, was the last of its kind that wasn’t part of the Ashes series.

In the 35 games played between Australia and England before the 2019 Ashes series starts, Australia won 33 and lost 32. Australia has won the series in England 14 times, but England has won the series 18 times at home.

  • Most Runs –

Sir Donald Bradman was a cricket player for Australia. He scored the most runs in the history of the Ashes. In 63 innings, he has scored 5028 runs, which is an average of 89.79. He has more runs in the Ashes than anyone else. Sir Jack Hobbs from England and Allan Border from Australia are second and third on the list, with 3636 and 3548 runs, respectively.

  • Highest Individual Score –

With a score of 364, England’s Leonard Hutton now holds the record for the biggest individual score in an inning in Ashes cricket. During his at-bat, he hit 35 balls beyond the boundaries of the park. During the 1938 series, he batted through 847 balls to score those runs, contributing to England’s record-breaking total of 903-7 for the month of December. In the ongoing series of the Ashes, there have already been four more scores of 300 points. The final result was improved by the contributions of Bob Simpson (311), Bob Cowper (307), and Sir Donald Bradman, each of whom scored same runs (304).

  • Highest Batting Average –

Sir Donald Bradman holds the record for both the most Ashes batting records and the highest batting average in Tests against England. In 63 innings, he hit 89.79% and drove in 5028 runs, which gave him a.508 average. Eddie Paynter of England is the only other batter with an Ashes average above 80. His average is 84.42.

  • Most Hundreds –

After reaching 1900 runs in the Ashes, Sir Donald Bradman reclaimed his title as the all-time leader in runs scored. The names Steve Waugh, who is from Australia, and Sir Jack Hobbs, who is from England, are listed here. During the course of their careers, each of them reached the century mark 10 times.

  • Most Fifties –

Allan Border is the Australian batsman with the most half-centuries in an Ashes series, with 19. Ian Bell of England is in second place with 18 scores of fifty or more. Next in line are Herbert Sutcliffe of England and Clem Hill of Australia, both of whom have 16 fifty-plus scores.

  • Most Wickets –

Shane Warne now holds the record for the most dismissals taken in an Ashes series, having taken 195 wickets throughout the course of the series. Glenn McGrath, a coworker of his, is the only other bowler in the competition who has taken more than 150 wickets. Glenn McGrath is also in the event. He has 157.

  • Most 5-wickets In An Innings –

Sydney Barnes, a member of the English cricket team, has taken 12 five-wicket hauls in an Ashes innings, which is the most of any player. The other five bowlers with 11 five-wicket hauls are Tom Richardson of England, Terry Alderman of South Africa, Charlie Turner of England, Clarrie Grimmett of Australia, and Shane Warne of Australia.

Know all about cricket news and updates at CBTF news.

Get the fastest cricket news update at

Know all about cricket betting and updates at CBTF betting.

Get the updated expert betting tips at

Checkout our videos to get the latest updates about cricket and betting tips, and casino

tips to win big with expert opinions at